Black

22 Oct

BlackTed Dekker

Publisher: WestBow Press, a division of Thomas Nelson

Publication Date: 2004

Paperback: 408 pages

Book Blurb:

Enter an adrenaline-laced epic where dreams and reality collide.

Fleeing his assailants through deserted alleyways, Thomas Hunter narrowly escapes to the roof of a building. Then a silent bullet from the night clips his head… and his world goes black.

From the blackness comes an amazing reality of another world—a world where evil is contained. A world where Thomas Hunter is in love with a beautiful woman. Then remembers the dream of the chase as he reaches to touch the blood on his head.

Where does the dream end and reality begin? Every time he falls asleep in one world he awakes in the other—both facing catastrophic disaster. Thomas is being pushed beyond his limits…even beyond the limits of  space and time.

Black is an incredible story of evil and rescue, betrayal and love, pursuit and death, and a terrorist threat unlike anything the world has ever known.

Some say the world hangs in the balance of every choice we make. Now the fate of two worlds hangs in the balance of one man’s choice.

Three novels. Two worlds. One story.

Stand alone or series: Series most definitely. Now it was originally marketed as a trilogy. Even the line above says three novels, however there are now four. Black, Red and White make up the original three, but now there is also Green. Green is said to be book zero, able to be read at the beginning or end of the others to create, you guessed it, a circle. But be warned, within the first couple pages of Green it gives away important things from the other books. I fear it could take some of the suspense out of the other novels, and suspense is the power that fuels them.

Why I read this book: I remembered hearing in mentioned years before by a fellow classmate. She wanted to start a book club, but it never got off the ground. The titles lay dormant in the back of my mind until I saw Black on sale at Half Price Books. It was cheap and I had a summer ahead of me to read. I packed it on a long trip and having run out of everything else I’d brought to read I finally picked it up, when I did I didn’t even bother putting it down to eat.

Review:

The prologue is dark and very slow. I dragged through it like wading through honey, unsure if I was going to finish such a book. But please hold on. It does provide information that will become useful later on, though it also gives away a number of plot points I might have wished to wait for. I think the goal though, is to give you some footing on the strange ground you’re about to traverse, because in chapter one Tom hits the ground running (quite literally) and doesn’t stop for quite some time.

“Adrenaline-laced” is a great phrase for this series. It just keeps going and going at an almost breath-taking pace. I certainly got swept up and read them much faster than I should have. There’s so much detail, so many little things to catch, but I was busy wanting to know what happened next. But I urge you to stop and smell the roses, or in this case the fruit of the colored forest.

The world that Dekker creates in the reality parallel to our own is astonishing. One of my favorite details is the trees and wood of the colored forest. I could go on and on about this fascinating substance, but he does it so much better than I so I’ll let you discover it yourselves. The other world contrasts our own in many ways, but enables readers to draw conclusions about this world by comparing the two. In our world evil so often appears disguised as something else or hides until we realize the danger too late. In the other reality, there’s a clear distinction between good and evil through appearances and through a physical divide that separates the two.

I found this to be a fascinating series (I haven’t read Green yet) and invite you to get swept away as I did. Though the books are long in page length I think you’ll find they fly by, sped along by a swift plot and short chapters. Whether the time it takes you is long or short, I encourage you to invest it in this series. The beginning may be hard to follow, but it causes a greater feeling of accomplishment when you finally do get a grasp on what in the worlds is going on. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

