Lost in Rooville

17 Sep

Lost in Rooville

Ray Blackston

Publisher: Revell

Publication Date: 2005 

Paperback: 298 pages

Book Blurb:

Australia + woman + ring = ?

Jay Jarvis is pondering commitment. But his math is getting complicated.

Can he survive a trip from the beaches of South Carolina to the Outback with his cluster of crazy friends? Or will the allure of a wild roo-chase spoil his perfectly calculated plans? Ray Blackston’s back with more side-splitting humor, unconventional characters, and electrifying dialogue.

Stand alone or series: The third and, as far as I know, last in the Flabbergasted world. It is a series-ish as all three are set in the zany world Blackston first created with many overlapping character, but the second book strays from the main character, Jay, and switches to Neil. But who cares? Read them all!

Why I read this book: Loved the first two, wasn’t going to miss the third.

Review:

I’m just going to warn you now, it’s not possible to talk about this book without spoilers. However I will do my best not to give anything away past the first act.

Jay Jarvis plans an exotic trip with Allie to the outback. While Allie thinks she’s just along for the fun of it, Jay searches for the perfect rock on which to pop the rock. One minor problem is that their crazy will-they-won’t-they-commit friends, Steve and Darcy are along for the ride. In an attempt to get rid of them and find an alone space, Jay and Allie venture hundreds of miles into the orange encrusted outback in a burnt orange Land Cruiser. Not the best of plans.

As usual, this book is split up into three acts. I enjoyed the first act though not quite to the same standard that I had enjoyed the other books. To be honest, the second act dragged for me a bit. It took a while for me to get through. I think this is due to a lack of action/movement and the sad vibe it takes on. I’m used to getting hit with contemplative thinking in the middle of a laugh in these novels, but this strayed from pondering to… well, to unpleasant places. Act three is when it really picked up for me. I’m not sure if it was the change of scenery, but back in some familiar locations my love of these novels and characters returned in full force. I wouldn’t go to sleep until I finished.

Blackston has produced another wacky, I-can’t-believe-that-just-happened tale that will keep you wondering and wandering till the end. If you’ve read the others, this is a must to see how it all turns out for the nutty couples we’ve come to know and love. And I’ve got to say I love the epilogue. I’m usually not a big fan of epilogues (the Harry Potter one comes to mind in particular), but this one was spot on and ended the series on just the right note. All I can say is happy reading and if you’re going to the Australian outback make sure at least somebody knows where you are. 

 

Leave a Reply

