Miss Match

10 Sep

MissMatchErynn Mangum (an all-time fav!)

Publisher: TH1NK Books an imprint of NavPress

Publication Date: 2007

Paperback: 365 side-splitting pages

Book Blurb:

Lauren Holbrook has found her life’s calling: matchmaking from the romantically challenged. And with the eclectic cast of characters in her world, there’s tons of potential to play “connect the friends.” Inspired by the recent success of matchmaking her sister and new husband, Lauren sets out to introduce Nick, her carefree singles’ pastor, to Ruby, her neurotic coworker who plans every second of her day. What could possibly go wrong? Just about everything.

When Lauren’s foolproof plan begins to unravel, she learns that a simple introduction between friends can bring about complicated results. And as she reconsiders her new role as Cupid (as well as her vow to stay single forever), will Lauren finally decide God’s plan is enough?

Stand alone or series: One of a trilogy. And trust me, you’ll be happy there’s not just one.

Why I read this book: To be honest, it was a long time ago that I first picked up this book. I’m guessing the title and the bright colors on the spine grabbed me as I was walking through Borders. Sniff, I know I’m sad that it’s gone too. And it’s got a fun cover, of course mine is now scratched and creased from the number of times I’ve lent it out and carried it around with me.

Review:

This mile-a-minute novel is sped along by the coffee crazed Lauren Holbrook. She talks as fast as a triple shot of espresso would make your heartbeat and, oh, the things she says. I cannot take this book out in public with me any more because I laugh too loud and too often, and when I try to hold it in I end up snorting. Not a pretty sight.

MissMatch is a modern day, Christian throw back to Jane Austen’s Emma. All the way down to kindly father who thinks marriage is a bother but only because it takes away his beautiful girls. His youngest, Lauren, does not share the same view as she runs willy-nilly throwing her friends together to often disastrous results. What Lauren doesn’t expect is her friends trying to return the favor. I won’t tell you who, you’ll meet him later.

The cast of characters will have you aching with laughter from Dad with his lemongrass tea whom you just want to hug to Ruby who is so tightly wound it can only be fun to watch her come undone to Brandon who won’t stop calling her Nutsy and who’s idea of a good time is watching The Extraordinary League of Gentlemen (which I’d never seen before reading about it in this book, not bad I must say). Each character is wonderfully sketched with their own quirks and quarrels. And each has the somewhat supernatural ability to face Lauren in the battle of wits that is her every day life.

Man, just flipping through the pages and writing this review has me wanting to read it again. I can count on less than one hand the amount of books I’ve read twice, there are too many good books out there to read them more than once in my opinion. However, this is one of the precious few that I have read more twice. It’s just that good. And you’ll laugh every time.

Leave a Reply

